Question Concerning Microphone Gain Specs

VectorPeasley

Hello, everyone! I'm Vector Peasley. I'm new to both these forums and home recording.

I've been recording at home with my budget microphones for seven months now--and I've learned a lot! However, with all knowledge to be had, sometimes we need a helping hand. And that's why I'm here today.

So, my reason for coming here isn't to find a solution to a problem, per se. It's to find an answer to a question. And for some of you pros, the question might seem awfully silly.

Alright, so here we go. I have recently been recording with two specific microphones: My Blue Yeti (not a Pro) USB microphone and a Shure SM58 connected to a Focusrite Scarlett Solo USB audio interface. (Told ya I'm new!) :)

My question has to do with the specifications of the two microphones. I understand their specs will be much different, due to the fact that one is a stereo condenser USB microphone (Blue Yeti) and the other is a mono dynamic XLR microphone (Shure SM58).

Upon many recording experiments, my comparison of the two yielded that the Blue Yeti was giving me better results than the Shure SM58. Strange, right?

When recording with the Shure SM58, my interface has to cranked to the highest gain setting for there to be any hope of capturing an audible signal. (Seeing as the Gain Range for the "Scarlett Solo's Microphone Input" is from -4 dB to +46 dB, I have the interface set to +46 dB in this case.) Even then I have to normalize the audio afterwards, resulting in unwanted white noise. I do not have this problem with the Blue Yeti. Even when my Yeti's gain is all the way down (no signal boost), it picks up a nice, meaty signal.

Using GoldWave, a digital audio editor, I noticed something strange with the gain strengths of my Scarlett Solo interface vs my Blue Yeti. I've attached a picture showing my observations.

AudioSettings.png

Notice the color of the Volume (dB) bar and the numbers to the right.

AudioSettingsEdit.png