Need help in finding what kind of device this would be.

Richay13

I'm looking for a device (i think control surface) that I can plug via usb or interface where I have controls like recording buttons, channel selections, ect when I'm 20 feet away ffrom my desktop where I would record. What am I looking for?
I have no clue what this device or even spec is called. I'm sure there are digital/midi mixers that do this as well, and though I'm not closed to the idea of taking that route - I'd like to get something cheaper for now. however, if I did end up looking into a digital/midi mixer, I would need to know what that spec or that type of accessibility is called. Any help is appreciated/

Thank you in advance
-Raquel

PS. I'm also open to product recommendations
(also apologies if this belongs in the newbie area - I'm not exactly new to recording but I'm new to convenient equipment)

Many DAWs can have remote control from a pad or similar device - it depends on what kit you have that you want to record? I'm assuming you mean a desktop computer that you record on, or do you want a portable recording device of some kind that records itself?

Twenty feet can be or can't be a problem? Can you perhaps explain a bit what you have, want to do and some info?

Raquel, I use a foot switch to punch in and out of track. That is a TRS 1/4" cable to the interface, the switch is a non latching type in a simple housing.

Midi can send a command to the DAW too.

The cable can be 15 ft or 25 ft.

When I record drums I am 10 to 15 feet from my desk and I can still see my 24" monitor so I just use my wireless mouse on a stool next to where I'm playing. Not sure if I could see it from 20 feet but if I couldn't it would be an excuse to get a larger monitor. I don't need anything fancy for my DAW so a lower end or used monitor could be had pretty cheap.