Is it necessary to have two overheads?

adema1226

I'm trying to find a pair of overheads, stands, and preamps for around $300. I'm new to recording and am wondering if it's actually necessary to have two overheads (as I may not have enough money for two mics and preamps for each).

I looked around on the site and didn't find anything on this, although surely it has been posted somewhere. Also searched google but didn't find anything that really helped a lot.

Just wondering what some of you experienced guys think about this, and if by some chance anyone has a recording of a kit that used only one overhead, post it up.

Thanks for any help!

Just a side question: I won't have any room mics, so should I get large diaphragm condensers to sort of "double" as overheads and room mics?

What is it your are planning on recording? What gear do you have now? What type of music are you recording?

Haha sorry. Like I said, new to recording.

I've got an Alesis Multimix 8 USB FX, 4 dynamic mics for kick/snare/toms. I've only got four XLR inputs on the mixer but I've got an additional two line inputs. I was going to get two condensers to use as overheads, and a preamp for each (since all the XLR inputs on the mixer will be taken). I was going to use a TRS cable to go from the preamps to the line inputs on the mixer.

I generally play rock, but just record whatever genre I want at the moment. I just want to get the clearest sound out of the drums obviously. Unfortunately my mixer doesn't have the room for any additional mics after all four dynamics and two condensers - and because by budget is $300 I'm worried I might not even be able to buy 2 condensers and preamps for each + stands for each. That's why I'm asking if it's necessary for clear sound to have two overheads. I mean would one overhead do any good?

Once again, I'm new to recording... so I apologize if I can't really describe my situation well enough for anyone to help haha.