Gain staging help!

audiosensi

Hey everybody! Newbie here with a few questions on how to gain stage VOCALS correctly!

I have provided pictures to give clarity as I'm only tracking no mixing no inserts. Just vocals over instrumental.

Setup-
Mic-U87
Pre Amp-Neve 1073 500lb
Compressor-Tube Tech C1LB compressor
Audio Interface-UAD Arrow
Pro Tools

Explanation of pictures In order

#1) I'm peaking at around -12db and averaging around -15 to-17db on the pre fader meter in which I have it set to "Pro Tools Classic" or am I suppose to be using a different meter (Ex Sample Peak, Venue Peak, ETC....)? With that being said I'm staying in the suggested range of -12 to -18db as I see universally suggested when recording in 24 bit. I assume this is the correct meter to use when to gauge my levels when I hear folks discuss watching your meter to prevent from clipping?

#2,#3,#4) This is the VU meter I'm using to gauge my DBVU's. To my understanding 0VU=-18dbfs which many consider the sweetspot in which you want your average to hover around on the analog meter.

As you can see I'm getting nowhere near there with my vocals.

I'm trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong because the only way I can get it to hover around 0 is to turn up the gain considerably at the risk of introducing floor noise.

#5) This is the size of the wavelength I produce at the levels in comparison to the instrumental. Is this optimum ?

#6) Gain settings on my Neve 1073 LB Pre Amp along with my Audio interface

Sorry for the pictures coming out upside down! On my computer they are showing up normally but when I upload only one is normal and the others to the side.

Thank you in advance and happy to find this board.

Attachments

• IMG_5255.jpg
    IMG_5255.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 11
  • IMG_5256.jpg
    IMG_5256.jpg
    5 MB · Views: 8
  • IMG_5258.jpg
    IMG_5258.jpg
    4.2 MB · Views: 14
  • IMG_5259.jpg
    IMG_5259.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 10
  • IMG_5262.jpg
    IMG_5262.jpg
    710 KB · Views: 12