Focusrite sound quality

dreemeternal

Hi guys. I"m not a newbie, but not an expert either, and I'm self taught. I record my own music in my basement. I've had some songs accepted to one music library, so I'm meeting the minimum standards, as far as db's etc. just, my sound it's still subpar, needs thickness, depth, and loudness. I've used the Focusrite solo before and now I use the clarett 8 pre. Would buying an Apollo help me increase my sound quality? any recommendations? could it be as simple as that? of course I'm on a low budget, lol.
I've stopped recording for now since I need to figure out first what the problem is. I know mixing and mastering are way different animals than being a musician, but I'm surprised I haven't achieved a better sound.

here's a link to my music website.

Thank you all!

I think it's extremely unlikely that switching to an Apollo interface will make a substantial difference. Thickness and depth are most likely arrangement, recording and mixing issues. Loudness is partly determined by the mix and partly determined by mastering. A decent mastering limiter (not a general use limiter or compressor) can make things arbitrarily loud, but much of the potential for loudness while sounding good is in the mix.

In my experience, the nice thing about some of the Apollo interfaces is that they can host effects and take some load of the CPU.

Thanks Boulder Sound guy! exactly what I thought. I guess I'll have to take a course or something as I feel I'm close. 'appreciate your input!

I think you just need more experience. I had a quick listen to a few of your samples and felt that you were often using stock sounds that have been well used before. I'd say that you need to think a bit more about arrangements and try to come up with something a bit more unusual in sound. Stick with your existing interface and concentrate on the sound design, composition and arrangements.