Entry level recording software for musician??

metanoiachan

Hi everyone.

I'm wanting to buy something inexpensive entry level recording software as a christmas present, but I'm having trouble working out what would be best to buy with my limited knowledge. Any help is appreciated.

This would be for a bass player with several bands who has studied music but who has a more limited computer knowledge. I think the last time he owned/used mixing software was about 10 years ago.
He has a windows 8 laptop.
His aim is to record band practices and do some basic cleanup/editing/playback.
I don't know if multi-track is something he needs/wants.

I'm looking to spend up to $100 for something to get him started. I want to avoid subscription based products.

I'm looking at these options but I have limited music knowledge.

Sony Soundforge Audio Studio (AU$50)
ACID Music Studio (AU$80 - or AU$110 for both audio studio and music studio)
Music Creator 7 (AU$30)

I've been reading mixed reviews about all of these products.
At the moment I'm leaning toward Music Creator 7 as it seems to allow for multi-track editing as well as basic mixing and cleanup while having a low price point.
Or would I be better off spending a bit more and getting one (or both) of the sony creative products?

Is there other software that might be better??

for your budget, Reaper is a great choice. it is a very powerful DAW and the personal use license is 60 bucks. :thumbs up:

For simple recordings of a band rehearsal, he's going to need more than just software. He will need some way of getting audio into his computer. A 2 channel interface is good for that. Most are USB and all will come with some Lite form of a popular DAW software; like Sonar, Cubase, Pro-Tools. So, really don't need to go out and buy software if he gets a package with an interface.

He'll also need mics and cables, but I'm guessing he'll have those if he is already in a band.