Cubase 7 Transport Panel / No Audio Activity during recording

seris7

Hello guys,

I have posted it in a bit different topic, but decided to copy/paste it also here... Thank U.

I pretty new to this forum but I can't say that I am a newbie to CuBase I have been using it since ver. 3 and everything worked perfectly.
Few days ago I have bought CuBase artist 7 and faced one problem that I have never seen before...

For example... I am trying to record guitar via fireface400 using GuitarRig 5. I add MONO channel in VST connections, add audio track, insert guitar rig...
I can hear clean guitar sound as soon as I connect guitar to fireface... but I see no audio activity (AUDIO IN) in Cubase 7... transport panel (AUDIO IN) stays still...
When I do press recording button, I can see CuBase recording, but I cant see audio activity (AUDIO IN) again... Also I cant hear the sound of guitar rig... normally I was pressing MONITOR button and could hear the sound.When I press play to hear the recorded file, guitar rig works well... but not during recording...

Same thing is with mic... I can hear myself... but I cant see any activity on transport panel (AUDIO IN)...

What could this be? Could You please help me?
THANK YOU!

This really annoyed me about CA7 and i didn't get much help from steinberg support.

It appears you have to have the Monitor button on the track engaged for audio to be recorded. (Seems like a big to me but whatever). i also had to set out routing of the track source to "nothing" or i would get the doubling effect of the audio.

I started out using the full C7 trial and didn't have this problem until the trial expired and i was on artist 7, so i think this is a CA7 issue and not with the full cubase 7.

Hello all,

This is not a Cubase 7 problem, nothing has been changed about the Audio routing since Cubase SX3.
To start recording first you need to make sure the ASIO driver for your sound card is selected under: