Catastrophic Adobe Audition Audio Sync Drift Error

CrazyMan

**posted this in Digital Audio before I saw this group**

Hey everybody. This is my first post ever here. I've been mixing & editing audio with Adobe Audition for literally 15 years now (back when it was cool edit pro also). I use AA 1.5 because I'm used to it and it seems better than the updates.

However, I just upgraded to a new laptop with windows 7. Was using XP formerly. Now all the sudden, whether in 1.5 or 3.0 ; I am getting out of sync audio recordings that are off by a little less than a second. I tried fiddling around with the correct drift check marks and the other weird settings in there, but I can't seem to figure this out by trial & error.

I do mostly rap which is based so much on timing; and so this little drift is RUINING everything. And I can't record. I don't know what to do. I have tried a 1000 different combinations of checkmarks, buffers, & diffferent setting... nothing seems to be working. This is a disaster.

YOu need to double check your OS and hardware for some problems. With respect to AA 1.5 settings, you can try my multitrack settings that I set with AA1.5, you can read it here: Multi-track settings for Recording and Mixing using Adobe Audition

Sometimes, even though your DAW settings are correct; lag and drift are often caused by your audio interface/sound card drivers being incompatible with your system. That's why you need to use the updated drivers for your audio interface.

If your audio interface is ASIO supported, you can try installing Reaper and see if it sorts the problem. I have Reaper also in my PC along with Adobe Audition. Both are fully working although I use Reaper for recording/tracking and use AA1.5 for some serious audio editing work.