Blind Test - Recorded Tube Amps vs Amp Sims

Aramis-V

Hey guys!

I'm doing a master's thesis comparing recorded real Tube Amps with Amp Sims.
I've ran some tests and recorded some samples, now I'm doing a blind test to see if people can tell them apart.

I've got some answers from guitarist but I really need some inputs from mixing/recording engineers, so if anyone want's to try it, I would really appreciate.

Thanks a lot!

Here is the link to it:
https://forms.gle/E55VrqKFaxhrFLMR6

You can get a usable sound or an unusable sound out of either.
Also, the audience doesn't care, only the player would.

I've done a bunch of albums with Sims. They turned out well. No one knows the difference.

The good thing about Sims is the consistency. Something that can be tough with tube amps and microphones.

Aram, have you checked that your proposed MO is valid for the thesis?

One factor that might derail it is that there is no such thing as "A" valve amplifier, at least not in the guitar amp world.
Each V amp would need to be "specced out' to ensure it met its rated power output (keeping mains input constant at local nominal V) and the frequency response within a dB or two of the manufacturers specification (and good luck finding that out!)
When comparing V amp A with modelled amp B you would need to ensure that the baseline response was the same within 3dB at worst. You will, also need a decent C weighted SPL meter to keep sound levels the same (they won't ever be!)

Dave.

That's half an hour of my life wasted.