Best way to learn how to mix songs...

Learning how to mix... thats like saying how do I learn how to be a skilled drummer or guitar player... Some people are self taught, some people have spent much time with lessons etc. Its a skill just like playing an instrument. Emulate what you like.

That said, the old school way was to be an apprentice at a real recording studio. Most famous mixing engineers (eg Dave Pensado, Mutt Lange, the Lord-Alge brothers, so many more) started by apprenticing at a pro studio somewhere at the bottom sweeping the floors, etc, and gradually worked their way into being behind the console. Today, that path has pretty much disappeared or at least greatly dissipated. Still there are folks learning that way, I personally have met a few.

There are other resources like going to schools, either longer or shorter commitments. One shorter term one that I personally invested the time and money into was Ronan Chris Murphy's Recording Boot Camp. Pretty intense, but I learned alot. Recording Boot Camp™ - recording classes and audio training in Los Angeles.

Another great resource is Mike Senior's Book Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio Mixing Secrets For The Small Studio by Mike Senior (Cambridge Music Technology). An added bonus is his website has monthly newsletters and recorded stems for you or anyone one to download and practice mixing on and then get critiques.. for free!!!! He just came out with a new book (that I have yet to get, but I will) is Recording Secrets for the Small Studio.

Ronan (who runs recording boot camp and has been making a living as a recording engineer for 20 years) said he spent countless hours critically listening to his favorite and HIT records dissecting how they were mixed, panned, eq'ed, etc. He also has a newsletter that you can sign up for for free.

Many many other resources. But the only way to get better and good is to do it, study, listen, study, do it, etc. All the best.