Article: Mixers and Home Recording

any advice on getting vocals to stand out in a recorded mix?

Sorry for my late response. I have no advices on that for now. I'm a noob on the sound recording field myself. I hope our paths may cross again when I get some experience on the subject.

I have a few things to add to this thread.
1. Analog mixers work well for recording only if you know how to use them and can integrate them into your system.
2. You can get a decent used Roland VS workstation for about a tenth of what they cost originally, they are all-in-one digital mixer with good onboard digital effects with a hard drive and CD burner and digital display,
the effects are customizable, some even use mouse and monitor, hard drives are swappable, plus they sound really great and the cost is very low overall. Recommended VS880 or VS1680 ($100-$250) VS2000CD ($600-$700)
3. Older Macs with ProTools earlier versions using a Digi 002 control surface (digital mixer with motorized faders) can be had reasonably inexpensively and produce a very professional sound.
4. If you are recording on a computer I recommend using an interface, you can always route the outputs of just about any mixer into your interface if you want but beware that unless you have multiple outs into multiple inputs your track mix will be permanent.

I know this is probably old news but if you are just starting out and on a tight budget, it might be helpful .

I have a few things to add to this thread.
1. Analog mixers work well for recording only if you know how to use them and can integrate them into your system.
2. You can get a decent used Roland VS workstation for about a tenth of what they cost originally, they are all-in-one digital mixer with good onboard digital effects with a hard drive and CD burner and digital display,