Adding Midi tracks to Pre-Recorded Audio?

music4Jesus

I'm a complete newbie, so please be patient. I'm running Sonar 8 Pro and I've laid down a few audio tracks (guitars, bass, vocals). Now I'm experimenting with MIDI data (via SessionDrummerII). Is it possible to sync the tempos between the two, i.e., is there a way to adjust the tempo of the MIDI data to match the audio tracks' tempo?

I'm a complete newbie, so please be patient. I'm running Sonar 8 Pro and I've laid down a few audio tracks (guitars, bass, vocals). Now I'm experimenting with MIDI data (via SessionDrummerII). Is it possible to sync the tempos between the two, i.e., is there a way to adjust the tempo of the MIDI data to match the audio tracks' tempo?

I'm assuming you don't know what the tempo of your audio track is, correct?
Well I use an older version of MOTU DP....and they have a great feature where it helps you find what the tempo of your audio tracks are....and then it helps line it up or snap your audio to beat with your tempo set within DP. I believe its called quantize beats within soundbites. I'm sure Sonar has to have a feature like that. Check out the MOTU website.
http://www.motu.com/products/software/dp/beat-detect.html
I don't think this totally answers your question, but hopefully it'll give you an idea.

Thank you qrs, for taking the time. You're right, I don't know the tempo of my audio. I just used the Sonar's built-in metronome to keep time while I layed down tracks. Then I wanted to add MIDI drum data, the tempo of which I can change, but I don't know how to sync them together.

By the way, qrs, I'm using the MOTU DP link you gave me to try and find a similar fix in Sonar. Thanks so much. I'll be a regular on here with questions, as I'm just getting familiar with Digital Recording.

What about live tracks?