action/feel of keys on Yamaha DGX-650 vs. Casio PX-780?

zeppo

The Yamaha was release last year as an upgrade, and I think the PX-780 is about as new (and I think same keys as 750 and 850, and maybe 350). I wonder if any piano players out there have played these to have opinions?

I want to learn piano, so as a beginner, I'm sure either would do splendidly. But I have come across criticism about some clatter when releasing a key on the Casios. Sure enough, the model in the local Guitar Center did seem to have a key or two that seemed to exhibit this, vs the Yamaha. The Casio seemed to respond to a lighter touch than the Yamaha, but I'm not sure which is more representative of a real piano. I guess I'll stop by a piano store. But curious what objective opinions might be out there

Thanks

Finding someone who actually has these two models may be difficult. I have played a fair amount of different pianos in my life. I have a Yamaha s90 and a Casio Privia. My Casio feels good but I do detect the clatter (more like a rattle). I can feel and hear it. It really doesn't bother me. It's a faster action and requires less physical work to play than the Yamaha keyboard. The Yamaha keyboard does not rattle. I personally like the Yamaha keyboards and the s90 is a bit more flexible. It also require a bit more force to play it expressively. I recommend a heavy action for beginners to buld up the muscles. Pick the one that has a sound that will inspire you. You'll encounter a bigger difference between real pianos than you ever will between these two keyboards. You'll also realize that most people don't take care of their pianos.

Last edited:
A lady at a different forum recently purchased a DGX-640 and said she was very happy with the feel and responsiveness of the keys. I know that isn't the model you asked about, but it should be very similar.

I agree with ladewd-- real pianos can vary quite a bit from each other with regard to the feel and responsiveness of the keys.