ACID Pro 7 very choppy...

mtlullaby

ok. here's my problem. i've been using ACID for over 10 years now and haven't come across a problem like this before. i notice that, since upgrading to version 7, whenever i use too many effects on songs, the song plays back very very choppy, as if it was losing memory. i know it's not a memory problem as i'm running 4GB of RAM on 2 quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz.
if anyone else has this problem and knows how to fix it, please help.:(

IMO there are only two possibilities - cpu or disk I/O.

If you can monitor your cpu usage and I'll bet its probably reasonably acceptable - assuming your not using some cpu intensive reverbs

That leaves hard disk speed - a 10k rpm Raptor drive will give you an immediate 35%+ boost in I/O performance.

Just a thought...

Thanks Runaway.
I'm guessing it's probably the disk speed as I've been monitoring the CPU and it seems fine. I used to add the track's effects on SoundForge but just recently began adding effects directly on ACID - and that's when I started noticing the 'choppy' effect.
Kind of annoying when you're editing a song. :(

Thanks again for the response!

Unless your drive is horribly fragmented, even a reasonable 7200rpm drive should be good for anything but the most demanding projects (I've had mine running 120 tracks @ 24bit 44.1khz with not even a blip registering on Sonar's disk I/O meters), and if this were the case the playback would be affected regardless of whether plugins were enabled or not.

I suspect a third possibility, which I'm really surprised Runaway didn't mention (considering its one of the top causes for stuttery/interrupted playback)... your soundcard.

You haven't mentioned what soundcard / interface you are using...?

Are you using the latest drivers? ASIO drivers? What are your buffers set like?

More info please!

Hi Mattr,

Thanks for that.