Whats the story with your username?

How I got Commander Flashback

Several years after I left the road, playing with Bearman007, I took a job as a Disk Jockey in Indianapolis. The club was an "Oldies" nightclub, and they wanted me to take on some sort of persona that could be identified with the club, rather than my recognizable name as a musician. I invented Commander Flashback, inter-galactic warrior for the preservation of classic rock and roll throughout the civilized planets. At some point most people had forgotten my "real" name, and just started calling me "Flash", or "Commander". That is STILL true as to this day. Even my trusty bowling ball has "FLASH" engraved on it.

I just joined this forum today, and have just bought a Lexicon Omega mixer, and will be using both Cubase, and Sonar. I have been recording MIDI music for over three decades, but am a novice at all the new methods for complete audio projects. I hope to learn from this forum how to come into the 21st Century. Bearman007 is going to be my guide, but I hope to learn a lot from all of you.

Newbee here, just joined a few days ago. My first name is Barry, but I've been called Bearman for ever. Golfing buddies: Nice shot, Bearman! 007? Sounded cool, which I'm not, LOL!

Don't let Bearman007 fool ya' . . . he IS cool, and an incredibly talented recordist. Y'all will be happy to have him on board! Cdr Flashback

they wanted me to take on some sort of persona that could be identified with the club, rather than my recognizable name as a musician. I invented Commander Flashback, inter-galactic warrior for the preservation of classic rock and roll throughout the civilized planets.
I'm glad it was nothing to do with LSD. I was anticipating a "Captain Trips" type tale !

I'm glad it was nothing to do with LSD. I was anticipating a "Captain Trips" type tale !

Isn't Captain Trips what the plague was called in The Stand?

Yup
Wikipedia said: