Supermoon

inkline

Took some shots of the moon last night, turned out rather nice. Thought I'd show this around. :)

pipp_20171205_000443_lapl4_ap347_conv-BC2-RT.jpg

Cool!

(I had to look up what stacking was, just out of interest.)

The edge looks kind of artificial. And are those huge lines surrounding what look like craters real features?

Nice photo. First time I've actually bothered to pay interest to one.

That's all real. The post processing I did was almost entirely lighting and sharpening filters to emphasize the details.

The glass I used wasn't a professionally sharp one, if I had, there'd be far more fine detail.

Here's a bit of interesting triva -- the craters on the moon are called seas on moon maps, though all they are is full of dust.

I'm just beginning with stacking, but I can see I'll get a lot of use out of it, the before and after results are quite worth it. Hope to get some deep space objects like spiral galaxies in the future to turn out.

I'm talking about the actual craters -- the light spots, not the dark bits (seas). The craters have all these crazy lines extending from them!

This is what the best and sharpest shot was before any post processing such as stacking or fixing of the brightness, contrast and sharpness:

00_DSC04105_quality_100p-RA2-EXAMPLE.jpg

As you can see there's a bluish tinge on the upper left, that'd be chromatic aberration from the lens which is fixed by making the image black and white.

The lines are still there! As to what they are.. well..

Yes that's one explanation I've read. :) I suppose the lower gravity and the lunar dust being so lightweight could be enough for it to be that. There's also what is a less popular idea as far as I can tell that there were once volcanoes there. I don't know if there are other explanations, I'd guess there might be, I'm just starting out with this hobby.

Haha, thanks buddy! I had a lot of fun with the work for it!

Though more careful with the language please!

Nice pictures.