handyman tip for squeaks n shit

TAE

All you have is now
I grew up in housing construction and have been involved in all sorts of projects in my life. Many years ago I was doing a remodel and had to pull the doors off in this bathroom. Understand I have been pulling doors off since I was @ 8 years old and sometimes those dam hinge pins can be a mother...Not this time..... man they almost came out by themselves as I held the pins in my hand I felt a coating on them and recognised that "feel" it was the same sticky wax "feel" I would get when I would install a new wax toilet ring..I'll be darn! That's a great idea...so flash forward some 20 years later....I have kept a cup that I squished of 1 toilet ring into and it's still got another 20 years of use left...I think I paid $1 for it...100's of hing pins....we don't have squeaky doors in my house.....if you have a squeaky door ...this shit is the shit!

Anyway the little plastic tub I kept this stuff in was getting cracked so I decided to put it in a new container...tried to melt it down in a microwave...never seen anything like it......we're talking about 4 ounces...I could not get that stuff to heat up or melt...the dang stuff is crazy Over 2 minutes and it wasn't even warm...it's witchcraft I tell ya!

So I decided to see what in the heck this stuff is made of....I know originally they were Bees wax but this ain't no bees wax....

So....

In searching I came upon the article below.........pretty good list of things you can use this VERY inexpensive awesome lubricant and rust preventing protectant for...Here's y'all's goes... NO MO SQUEAKS!

I hyperlinked the article to the first sentence below if you want to go there to read it...

An old carpenter taught me this trick a few years ago. We were installing doors in a State Police barracks remodel and he pulled out of his box a piece of wax ring used for toilets.