Ever Notice People Who Say "I've been doing this for XXX years" don't know squat?

ibleedburgundy

The Anti-Lambo
Ever Notice People Who Say "I've been doing this for XXX years" don't know squat?

After trusting yet another person who told me they have 25 years of experience and then painfully realizing he didn't know WTF he was doing, I've come to the realization that people who say "I've been doing this for 25 years" as if it substitutes for an actual substantive argument for why they are correct don't know what the hell they are doing.

And if they truly did have that experience, they wouldn't have to say it in the first place because it would be obvious.

Perhaps he does have 25 yrs worth of experience. Just that it's 25 yrs experience of doing it badly and getting it wrong?

Yeah 25 years is enough time to have bad habits and wrong methods thoroughly ingrained. Generally if you're good at something it don't take 25 years to get that way.

Unfortunately, 25 years plants him back in the 80's. Some of the 'rules' have changed since then, especially when it comes to digital recording. Some people learn the 'right' way of doing things and then don't change their methods when times change.

Also, if he has been home recording for 25 years and has no real training, it's very possible that he just found a way to make his own stuff sound ok using his goofy methods based on misunderstandings of proper methods.

You can only judge people by their results. That is the only indication that they know what they are doing. Of course, there are plenty of people who get good results in spite of their wrong-headed beliefs.

Sorry IBB but that is way too much of a generalization...but yes I do find that some people say something like that that are all wrapped up in their own little micro cosmos and totally oblivious to change or possibly "new and improved" ways of doing XYZ.