Help needed with noise problem

KindaScratchy

Hi folks:

I could use some help figuring out the cause of a noise problem that cropped up last weekend when my bluegrass band performed at a local indoor farmers market. We provided a small sound system and I recorded with my Zoom H4n plugged into the system. I noticed the problem when listening to the recordings after the event; we did not notice it while we were playing.

The issue is a loud snapping noise that can be heard in some of the recordings at moments where the sound level produced by the singer or instrument is high. To me, the noise sounds electrical, like static or a short, but I'm no expert. I'm hoping it sounds like something to you. I realize you probably can't say what the cause is exactly without being there, but maybe you can give me a clue as to what it could be. I'll give you specs on the set up below, but first, here are two samples:

View attachment 21 Angelina Baker 2018-02-03.mp3 - noticeable in first 30 seconds over fiddle
View attachment 22 Mama Don't Allow 2018-02-03.mp3 - very noticeable in first minute over vocal

SETUP:
  • Microphones: 1 Ear Trumpet Labs “Mabel” condenser mic, 1 Neumann TLM 102 condenser mic, and 1 unidirectional dynamic (brand/model unknown) mic.
  • Mixing console: Yamaha MG06
  • Sound system: Fender Passport P150
  • Recorder: Zoom H4n

The two condenser mics were plugged into the mixing console, which was output to the sound system. The Ear Trumpet Labs mic was placed in the center as the main mic for vocals. The XLR jacks on the sound system were set to “line.”

The dynamic mic was plugged directly into the sound system and the XLR jack was set to “mic.”

The recorder was plugged into the sound system’s “tape out” RCA jacks with an RCA to XLR cable with two 15 db attenuators going into the H4n combo jacks. Mic level was set appropriately and there was no clipping. Mono mix was on and phantom power was on, though not needed.