BOSE Speaker Debate

AVtechguy

I have had this debate with many Audio Technicians and it always seems to be 60/40 split on who likes Bose Speakers (60% against and 40% for). I am not talking home Theatre speakers. I am talking the pro line.

I have been an Audiovisual technician for 20 plus years and have used Bose from Day 1. They have always done the job and sounded great. Yet there seems to be a hate on among professionals. Opinions?

Their reputation is that they grossly overstate what a particular product is good for. I think that holds true for their "direct/reflecting" home speakers, all the waveguide stuff and the L1 type "pro" speakers. The noise cancelling headphones seem to mostly live up to the hype, but Bose seems to want you to think that they invented them. Bose's claims regarding the L1 speaker systems seem quite unbelievable to me and it's probably the product responsible for their bad rep among pros, but in applications demanding less volume I can see them being useful. Some of their other more conventional PA stuff seems okay, though the amps I've seen were just rebranded QSC. I wouldn't be surprised if some of their A/V install stuff fell into that okay category.

"Better sound through advertising" is one of the common jokes with a grain (or maybe bucketload) of truth to it.