Shotgun Microphone Assembly

MAGUS2500X

Looking at building a shotgun mic for a project i'm working on but although I understand the basics on most of the project I am at a slight loss on one part. I'm not sure if I can simply Drill holes in the housing or if I HAVE to have slots along the side. Some sources I'm finding on builds state either or but without any specification as to the difference or if there is one. I am having trouble getting slots to come out properly (tools I am using are the main culprit) and I am wondering if I can simply drill holes instead. I'm also having trouble finding any information on what configuration I would need the slots in to help with phase cancellation with certain frequencies, assuming you can with a standard mic enclosure (most of the information I've seen on this part is for a multi-tube design that is large and impractical for my use.) Any information would be greatly appreciated as I am a novice when it comes to DIY of these.

I don't have the knowledge to help with this but I can tell you one thing.
People will need to know what mic you're modifying, or what components you're starting with if it's a complete new-build.

I imagine this thing is going to be an exact science but I'll be interested to hear what experienced guys say.
Good luck. :)

I don't have the knowledge to help with this but I can tell you one thing.
People will need to know what mic you're modifying, or what components you're starting with if it's a complete new-build.

I imagine this thing is going to be an exact science but I'll be interested to hear what experienced guys say.
Good luck. :)

Thanks for the input XD.