How to test

dragonworks

Banned
an output transformer? I have an old masco amp I have been working on and I have a large amplified signal right up to the output transformer.

I'm a proper noob here, but surely you can disconnect the transformer and check resistance across primaries, and then across secondaries.
At least that'd tell you if either side was open, right?

Even just disconnecting the output side and checking for output/voltage would be helpful in eliminating a short after the transformer, or whatever.

the transformer works somewhat. I did the tests you already mentioned and it seemed okay. I can see a 160 step up in amplification on my scope, until it reaches the output tranny, then a large drop, but still a clean low signal. I just found another NOS transformer and will replace this one, that will tell me for sure. When I first got it and turned it on both can filter caps melted. I replaced them, then the coupling caps for the 6l6s, then a bunch of other caps and some very large resistors. New rectifier tubes and a new phase inverter tube and two new diode tubes, two new 6L6s .Each time getting a better larger signal. Now everything seems to be working correctly with the correct voltages etc until I reach the OPT.

Attachments

• masco.JPG
    masco.JPG
    22.5 KB · Views: 83
The output transformer has gnd and 3 taps for 4, 8 and 16ohm.
Do you get the same result on each tap? Is the black grounded OK?

Although if you've ordered the new part anyway I suppose it doesn't matter. :)

The output transformer has gnd and 3 taps for 4, 8 and 16ohm.
Do you get the same result on each tap? Is the black grounded OK?

Although if you've ordered the new part anyway I suppose it doesn't matter. :)