M-Audio BX5a pair with one bad tweeter - Need advice

beano44

Hey guys.

I have been a semi-professional musician for twenty years, but have never had a good pair of speakers. Pretty lame, actually.

Anyway, so I found this BX5a pair today for $50. Seems to work and sound fantastic, with the exception of one blown tweeter. I talked to someone about replacing the tweeters with a JBL pair, but she said they would be a little brighter. It would probably be minor, but it almost seems like sacrilege to do something other than M-Audio intended.

I honestly do not know what to do. Get the JBL's? Try and find a used original somewhere? Sell the good one, and part the crap speaker on Ebay and get something better? I just don't know.

Some people think the BX5a's are so-so, but I was liking what I heard today.

I should also say...if anyone has a good spare original tweeter and Paypal, name your price. }:^)

Hi there,
It most likely is the driver but it'd be worth checking to be sure.
I'd recommend swapping the tweeters between your two monitors to be certain.

A quick look on ebay suggests the price is about right for one working speaker - They aren't worth a whole lot.
If you like them that's cool, but I'm not certain a fix would be worth the trouble.

I did swap it...sounds great in the other speaker! So I am pretty sure a tweeter is all I need. If it was more, I wouldn't even consider it.

There's a free ads section here but I think you'd get better info and advice in the DIY section.

I've moved the thread to DIY now - You were in the gear reviews section anyway. :p

If you want to post an add too, do feel free. :)

Have you tried M-Audio (or Avid or whatever TF they call themselves this week) for a replacement tweeter? Or.