DIY repair on old ART effects processor with a BUZZ

wjgypsy

I bought this old ART effects processor (from the 80's?) for cheap at a thrift store. Figured I'd take a gamble and sure enough - it work's but there is also a loud "buzz" present in the output as well. It goes away when I hit the ART's bypass switch.

I'm novice when it comes to electronic repairs but have a soldering gun and a willingness to learn for sake of future repairs.

Thanks for any assistance

Have you got a schematic?

I guess I'd be looking at the grounding scheme first and then checking any caps to ground, but I'm an electronics noob myself.

Thanks, Steenamaroo! I Haven't tracked down a schematic yet but will search / contact ART about that.

I have my suspicions that the 'buzz' could be a grounding issue but that's about as far as my knowledge goes. Once I have the grounding schematic, what exactly should I be looking for? How does one check caps for grounding? This will be my first time cracking open any thing like this, but at least this is good piece of gear to cut my teeth on.

Thank you for your patients.

No worries.
As I say, I'm a noob in this world but I'd be looking at all the points on the schematic that show ground and continuity testing them against a common point. Chassis, or whatever.
If it's as simple a broken ground you'll be laughing. :)

Visual inspection of caps is another potentially easy one. Literally have a look at all the caps and see if anything's leaking or bulging.

You say the unit doesn't do it in bypass mode but check to be certain.
Is it a guitar effects processor? Quite often they accentuate a buzz that is there already.
Run the unit in bypass but amplify the output to make certain the buzz isn't coming from your instrument.

First off, reserve the solder gun for car repairs and buy a $50 solder station.

A model number for the unit would at least give us a fighting CHANCE at a schematic but anyway throw up a smudge!