Building amp with vintage speakers - Newb Needs Help

flat1ine

Hi all -

I'll try and make this short and sweet. My wife and bought an older house, in it were 6 of these badboys (they're Altecs from before they became Altec-Lansing). The guy who owned the house kept everything in immaculate shape, and I kinda like the idea of giving some new life to these awesome, old speakers.

I want to make an amp with 4 of 'em.

Just for kicks, I swapped one of them into my beat to crap Peavy Blazer 158, and it sounds pretty cool.

Now, for some background, I'm a hobbyist musician at best - I'm never gonna be famous, I'm never gonna be all that great, but playing's fun as hell.

I figure there's probably a fairly difference between these suckers and speakers specifically tuned for amps -- I just want to build it 'cause i think it'll be a cool project, and I want to do something unique. I've had the same 15-watt amp for about 12 years (again, the Peavy), so anything louder or different is going to be a massive step up for me.

I've check out many of the amp kits online, but it's been almost 10 years (damn!) since I took electronics classes in college, and I'm clueless as to if any of those kits can power multiple speakers -- basically, I don't remember crap about how any of this works. I can solder decently enough, and I've been building PCs for decades, so I'm hoping to be technical enough ...

Preferably, I'd like to build my own cabinets (woodworking i can handle), I don't want to spend a ton of cash, and I have no idea where to start.

I don't care if it's solid state or tube, but in a perfect world, reverb would be nice.

Other than that, I'm clueless beyond belief.

Thanks!
-Erik

So, if it fit in that Peavey 158 (15 watts, 8" speaker) they are 8" speakers, right?