Anybody want to help with a pedal refurb project?

pikingrin

what is this?
I've got an (assuming) early-mid 80s DOD FX25 envelope filter that I bought off of ebay about 10 years ago. It worked then but it's starting to crap out a little bit. When the pedal is engaged the signal cuts out completely; disengaged it passes through as it normally would. If you hammer on the guitar strings it will cut in with the autowah sound but it's not worth breaking strings to get the pedal to function. Anyone know of a good starting place to check components for failures?

I have zero (0) experience working on pedals but I've got a few more that need some minor maintenance and I figured this would be a good starting point as it's normally not in my signal chain - it's one of those obscure pedals that I would be ok with using as a paperweight if I completely screw it up in the process... If anyone's got any advice I'd surely appreciate it!

There are plenty people here who will help, but the best resource I know of is What To Do When It Doesn't Work over on diystompboxes. You're going to need a decent multimeter, and an "audio probe". Probably a soldering iron and stuff...

TBH, unless you're really into learning and up for a bunch of frustration, I wouldn't bother with that particular pedal. Wasn't that great to begin with, and super cheap to replace. There's like four of them at my local music store any given day of the week.

There are plenty people here who will help, but the best resource I know of is What To Do When It Doesn't Work over on diystompboxes. You're going to need a decent multimeter, and an "audio probe". Probably a soldering iron and stuff...

TBH, unless you're really into learning and up for a bunch of frustration, I wouldn't bother with that particular pedal. Wasn't that great to begin with, and super cheap to replace. There's like four of them at my local music store any given day of the week.