Balance in the mix

kip4

As a relative beginner I dont always feel i get the balance of instruments right in my mixs.
Have you got some tips to check this please? for those of us who havent read the book thanks

Last edited:
Sure, Kip. I've posted about this a lot lately on my production blog, but here are a couple of quick tips.

1) Make sure that the pulse of the song is strong. That means the kick and snare, then the bass. If these are too low in the mix, than your mix will sound weak.

2) Don't over-EQ, especially on the low end. Too many times I see new mixers add a lot of bottom to the kick or bass and it just makes the mix sound woofy and muddy. If you want more low end, bring up the bass or kick in level first before you add any EQ.

3) The mix balance is all built around the ability to hear all the instruments. It's really easy for instruments to get covered up by one another, and that's when you begin turning things up and destroying your mix balance. Be sure to pan things so that you can hear everything first. Two guitars panned up the middle might clash, but if they're panned left and right, they'll probably work. Then go to #4.

4) EQ for balance, not for sound. The best way to use the EQ is so that you can hear everything distinctly in the mix. If a vocal and a guitar are competing for the same frequency space, try attenuating the EQ at 2-3kHz on one while increasing it slightly at the same frequency on the other. By checking that no two instruments that are panned together are EQed at the same point, you'll probably be able to better hear everything.

Of course, there are a number of other things that you can try and a lot more about the above points, but that's the idea.

Thanks for answering Bobby.
I will try this. I WILL take the time to read your blog too.
Cheers