![]() | ![]() |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Is this a Scam? It has to be.........
I got a letter in the mail from these guys today...Amerecord. Who knows how they got my home address......I've submit a few demos here and there, had one song released by an indie, and joined BMI all within the past 6 month......so I figure one of those gave them my address (bastards!) for some $.
As much as I want to scream SCAM!, it seems innocent. All the letter states is that they are looking for material. It's not a contract or guarantee or anything of the sort. Do these guys have any sort of reputation? Have you seen stuff like this before? Better yet, have any of you seen this exact thing before? Thanks for the help. http://www.amerecord.biz/indexB.html |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
answered my own question i think......nevermind....found this online...........
"I dropped $800+ dollars for my wife to send her material to the snake oil salesman at Amerecord.It was too late when we realized they stopped answering the phone. My wife is a talented singer and songwriter and they deserve their day in court for the fast one they pulled. When we got the CD she listened to it first. I came home and she said she had bad news the CD was the worst I had ever hear. It was so bad a local musician told her bluntly it sounded like Saturday night karaoke.If you are planning a class action suit please contact me via e-mail" |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
musicians are like gullible 14 year old girls.......,"You mean you really love me. Ok lets do it"
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
You should ask Monty to go over to Hollywood and shake 'em up a bit.
|
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
whenever you sign up with BMI or the likes or copyright a song, you can expect letters like these in your mailbox......
mmm....14 year old girls..... |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
I did a little more reading online........apparently they get you to send a demo..........they write back telling how fabulous one of the song is and how they want to use it.....if you pay them $400+ dollars for production and advertising, etc.......for an album that will never get seen or heard.........
In light of this, I'll be starting a similar company..........Powderfinger Productions.......if you pay me $800 and send me a song, i'll use my burner make a copy w/ several artists that I've scammed and send you back a copy of it.....and I'll also send a copy to the local radio station where they will be promptly throwing it into the trash.....but hey...we tried.......... this is too easy ![]() |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
heh their moto...
Amerecord The Peoples Recording Company damn communists... ![]() |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
there are lots of companies out there that send out a letter saying that if you send your demo as well as a bunch of money they'll pass it around to "industry people." never believe this crap. if it looks like it's too good to be true, it is. if it looks like bulk mail/ computer printed signature, throw it away.
|
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
![]() - Tanlith -
__________________
--==[ Tanlith ]==-- Sometimes I'm wrong... and I'm OK with that... being wrong is how you get to being right! |
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
www.geocities.com/songshark has info.
|
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
thanks for the link dave...very informative.........
|
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
Wow, where do I sign powder, you will do all that for only $800?
![]() |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
![]() |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
David - thanks for the link
Very interesting.
Some of the techniques used by the scammers actualy put me in mind of the Nigerian 419 email scams. They promise you your dream but first they just need a little contribution form you, then more contribution, then you (hopefully) realise what's happening and try to get your money back but too late! It must be very intimidatibng for a young musician to bethink he's so close to a record deal and fame, only needs to scrape up $20,000 - I wonder how many have done that? More about these type of 419 scams here... http://www.whatsthebloodypoint.com Though not music related, everyone needs to be aware of these. In any case the correspondence is hilarious if you've got some time to spare!
__________________
Online home |
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
I'm reminded of that Australian company that was supposedly selling porn at an insanly low price (like $5.00U.S. / title) then 4 weeks later they'd just send you a check for the money you spent with a note saying your title(s) was(were) no longer in stock...
The name of the company on the check was something like "The Anal Sex Gay Porn Company" or the like.... most people were too embarrased to cash the checks ... each check had a "Valid for 60 days" notice on them... if you didn't cash it you didn't get your money back... sorry about your luck... totally legal ... and the guy got rich... - Tanlith -
__________________
--==[ Tanlith ]==-- Sometimes I'm wrong... and I'm OK with that... being wrong is how you get to being right! |
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
Amerecord is still around?LOL..I was getting letters from them every month in the mid 80's....some offer to do a compilation or some bullshit like that.
|
|
#18
|
||||
|
||||
|
Check out this unsuspecting soul.LOL
http://favoritenet.com/mb12/_disc5/00000218.htm |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|