Would switching from a hypercardioid shotgun to a cardioid pencil mic help reduce room reverb/noise?

paleblue

I have a Sennheiser MKH600 hypercardioid shotgut that I've started recording a new youtube channel with. It's fine for the outdoor music recording I got it for, and it seems to be a well regarded mic. I'm editing my first video and am not all that pleased with my sound. It's my first time, so I'm just calling it a learning experience and moving on, but I want to get better.

My room is largely untreated so that's definitely the source, I'm working on that. But I've been watching people talk about pencil mics and I'm looking at the sE8 to possibly replace the MKH600. My thinking is the hypercardioid has a sizable rear lobe that could be picking up a lot of room noise. A cardioid has no rear lobe, and although it does have a wider front lobe I have curtains in those directions which I'm hoping will help.

Questions: Would the cardioid pattern and shorter barrel help cut any reflections/reverb from behind the mic? Is a decent pencil mic like the sE8 going to have as good sound as the MKH600?

Extra info if it helps:
I'm shooting/mic'd into a corner, and I sit about 8ft in front of the actual corner. But there's a large rest-of-the-room on the other side, a double office setup. Half wood panel walls, half brick. Smooth ceiling, wood floor except a rug under the area I'm filming in. But filled up with a lot of computer equipment and decor so it's not *quite* as reflective as it sounds. It needs a lot of work. I'm planning on hanging acoustic blankets to the sides and rear of the filming area, some foam panels in the corner, and probably a ceiling panel.