How to best use MD 421-II

powerval

Hello,

I won a Sennheiser MD 421-II from Musician's Friend. I'm a drummer, and right now I am playing and recording a pretty basic 4 piece kit. It consists of:

Pearl Vision VX
Birch snare - currently using and liking a SM57
12 inch tom
16 inch floor tom - toms both have Pyle pro mics
22x18 kick - Pyle pro kick mic and condenser
various cymbals - Pyle pro condensers

I like to tune the toms as low as possible, so would the MD 421-II be best for the floor tom? I've seen instances of this mic being used on pretty much every drum, but I'm happy with the sounds I'm getting on everything except the floor tom. Also, which bass roll off setting would be best?

Short answer - Try it and see.

421s have been used on snares, toms, kicks, bass cabs, guitar cabs, vocals....you name it!
Excellent mic.

I wouldn't bother with the roll off to be honest.
You can always do that later in your software, which means you don't have to commit.

I think they're on mics and channel strips for live use really or scenarios where you're committing to tape or whatever.

Hey thanks for the reply! Ordinarily, I would start messing with it right away, but I'm in the middle of writing a big essay, so I'm stuck at my computer. Thanks for the tip about the roll off though! I've never had a mic with that feature before.

German 57. Great mike on anything. Best on vocals, but is de facto gtr 2 and bass mic. Little darker than 57 but more low due to bigger diapraghm. The drawback is the space it takes, get lp drum claws. Also, they've told you about rolloff switch, oh yes, it dies....but be aware of that. Its a better mic than most.

Last edited:
Hello,

I won a Sennheiser MD 421-II from Musician's Friend. I'm a drummer, and right now I am playing and recording a pretty basic 4 piece kit. It consists of:

Pearl Vision VX
Birch snare - currently using and liking a SM57
12 inch tom
16 inch floor tom - toms both have Pyle pro mics