DP-24 - I love it (so far)

hi i am a noob here, i was jsut about ready to get the 2488 until i saw the dp 24
so is the dp 24 better than 2488 and worth it?
i plan on using the dp 24 to track my e drums in my garage and track jam sessions and other stuff.
my big question is storage and ability to transfer raw tracks to computer and dump them into a pro tools multi track session for edit/effect/mix/mastering
is the dp 24 cool for doing all of this?? worth it or should i get a 2488?
thx all, great site. dig it!!

hi i am a noob here, i was jsut about ready to get the 2488 until i saw the dp 24
so is the dp 24 better than 2488 and worth it?
i plan on using the dp 24 to track my e drums in my garage and track jam sessions and other stuff.
my big question is storage and ability to transfer raw tracks to computer and dump them into a pro tools multi track session for edit/effect/mix/mastering
is the dp 24 cool for doing all of this?? worth it or should i get a 2488?
thx all, great site. dig it!!

For basic tracking, I'd imagine the two units would function similarly. The benefit of the DP-24 is that it records to solid-state media, so you are at less risk of damaging the unit by moving it around. The 2488's use a standard mechanical hard drive which is much more susceptible to damage from moving the unit around. Also, I've read that you can simply remove the SD card from the DP-24 and, using an SD card reader, transfer tracks directly to PC without performing a lengthy export process. I could be wrong on that one.

Hello,

first of all, sorry for my bad english. :o

I bought the DP-24 as upgrade of the Neo. I see the DP ambivalent.

The DP-24 looks nice and is smaller than the Neo. The new color display brings fun, but it reflects very much and if you don't look exactly from front you will not see any details. At this point is the Neo not so beauty, but also visible also from a side. The new colored knobs for effects and eq are great.