Steps to getting your song published...

Cheeky Monkey

For what it's worth for those songwriters wanting to market their original compositions to publishers for recording/release by other artists, below is a list of steps I compiled over time. I'd posted this list to a number of songwriting web forums (not this one) and newsgroups and was lucky enough to receive responses from some industry insiders. It seems I was pretty accurate. Caveat: I've been published, but I'm by no means an expert. Hope it's of some use to members here. Anyhow, here goes...

BTW, if any members here are 'in the know' about any/all of this, please feel free to advise.

1. Song is written: Where collaborators are involved in the writing, agree in writing whose contribution is worth what, who pays for what, responsibilities for shopping the song, making copies, keeping up on phone calls/correspondence, etc. Put it in writing and all writers sign.

2. Song Demo: Writer(s) get a REAL good demo done (many here are already able to do this on their own) -- especially with a great vocalist. If using a demo studio to record the song, be sure to get a proper 'work for hire' release agreement with the studio. Although good for the writer in principle, one insider told me he has rarely seen them used in LA or Nashville. Still a good idea IMO, and a reputable studio should have no problem in providing one.

3. Copyright: When demo is complete, writer(s) prepare and submit the appropriate U.S. Copyright Office Form (with audio recording) and $30 U.S. fee to Library of Congress to legally protect the song. If multiple writers, only one has to sign the form on behalf of all writers. Seems Form PA (or short version) is most often used. http://www.copyright.gov/forms/.
Apparently, if the song is 'placed', it's usually the record company that uses LOC Form SR to protect their master.