Free Fallin Cover - Feedback?

BeginZach

The beginning sounds off, but please have a listen and let me know on how I can improve! It may not sound great but please stick with it until the end, positive and negative feedback would be hugely appreciated!! Any tips would be great!!!

Also I'm learning guitar so this is my first time playing and singing!

Thanks

https://soundcloud.com/kingdreamland/free-fallin-cover

Last edited:
Yes, when you started, the note went totally off and you did fine on the other parts but i could hear some off notes. But you sang it better than your old post and i think you should keep practicing if you want to become a good singer. Just try to practice from your keyboard if you have one by playing a single note on it and humming or singing on that note (or you can download many free keyboard apps).

I can't hear any badly off notes. Pitchwise, it sounds decent enough to me.

Your tone is downbeat, almost apologetic. There is nothing absolutely wrong with that, but it makes it difficult to energize the sound.

Your tone darkens at the very end of each phrase because you are not holding your overtones right through the note. You are not injecting much in the way of "cry" or overtones, in the first place, and they retire early. Again, this is merely a matter of style. You have gone for a more airy sound. My opinion is that the combination lacks energy. I checked out the original, and the "cry" in the singer's tone saves it from the same fate.

The chords of the song are already doing a good job of conveying a downbeat effect where it is required. It is my opinion that you don't need to accentuate that. You even have room to counter it without changing the mood. You can get some interesting contrast and emphasis that way.