Where to start with acoustically treating a room

GreenDayFan2170

I'm interested in starting to treat my home studio which is just a bedroom. Since I do my recording/mixing in one room I'm not sure where to start. I'm a drummer so I don't want the room too dead from what I've read. Treatment wise I was thinking behind my monitors and where the first reflections are. Possibly some bass traps too. Also where would the ideal space be for your monitors?
Thanks

You know, I am surprised that there isn't a sticky about where to start. There are thousands of threads about it, but no stuck intro. I need to get to work. :)

HERE is a good starting point.

You know, I am surprised that there isn't a sticky about where to start. There are thousands of threads about it, but no stuck intro. I need to get to work. :)

HERE is a good starting point.

Thanks. That helps I KNOW I need to get my desk out of the corner and I'll probably center it. I'm in a square room. I think I'll pad behind me (how much though?) Bass traps for the corners, behind my monitors and the first reflections. Do you think that'd be good enough to get a better sound I still need some room for my drums (don't I?)
Thanks

Well, a recording room and a mixing room are ideally treated differently. Compromise, when only have one room to work with. Drums are best recorded in a large room, where the room itself, adds some space. If you are recording in a small room, over-treatment is not going to be an issue. The small room, and what is does to the sound is what you want to try to control a bit. Any reflections will not be the good kind.

What are your room dimensions?

Wow, that barely enough room for a kit. It takes a bit more work to hang, but you may want to try straddling the ceiling corners. All of them.

Wow, that barely enough room for a kit. It takes a bit more work to hang, but you may want to try straddling the ceiling corners. All of them.