Want to start building a studio in new house and need help

Farrestor

Hey Guys,

I am a noob, but I thought I would get better input in here after reading some posts on here. I was just wondering where you guys think I should locate my equipment and where to put foam placement. I have a rectangle room that has two doors to two different rooms. I know the monitors run down the long way, but I also have a 4X7 inlet to a window with a downsloping roof in the inlet and a closet on the back wall. What i was wondering is where you would recommend putting my computer and monitors and should i make a vocal booth in the inlet? Where should I locate drums maybe and where should I put foam. I apologize for being vague and a newb but any help would be really appreciative.

The room is shaped this way.(Sorry this is best I can do I suck as artist)

14X9 ft is room size, on the back wall there is door and closet on front wall just a door on the long sides of wall there is a 4.5X7 ft inlet with a sloping downward ceiling towards a window. 8ft ceilings and upstairs room with doors to two rooms on both ends of short wall.

Last edited:
Please Please Please? Any advice on room layout and where i should put everything including foam and a vocal booth?

Ok, first of all, relax. :) You only posted 1 hour ago. This isn't a call centre with "agents standing by to help you". :D

As far as what to put where, a general rule to keep in mind is that you want to do as much as you can in the bigger room. Forget about "vocal booths", and certainly forget about FOAM. If you can get your drums, monitors and vocal mic all the same room, then do that.