Vocal booth advice

bennymac

Hi All,

I'm about to construct a vocal booth, so I can do voiceover work from home. I've done a lot of googling and reading of forums such as this, and I do have a design I'm about to use, but as I am a total novice at this sort of thing (ie. construction and audiology) I would appreciate any comments/suggestions before I start.

I live in a rented apartment so the vocal booth has to be stand-alone. I'm prepared to spend up to US$1,000 on materials, as I'm hoping to have something I can use for professional work.

I need a vocal booth for two reasons, firstly to keep noise out. The room the booth will go in is unfortunatley the one closest to the road I live on. I'm on a hill, between two intersections, so whilst traffic can't get up that much speed, trucks are quite loud because they're in low gears (I do realise I won't be able to make it soundproof). Also I need to give my recordings a 'professional sound', even if I did have total silence the recordings wouldn't do because of the acoustics of the room. So I'm looking to construct a booth that reduces the sound as much as possible given my budget and location constraints, and provides a professional sound for voice work.

I found a design at http://www.digital-synthologie.de/gesangskabine/ , which the author has kindly put online. It seems to have worked for him and fits my requirements so I'm planning on using that. Diagram follows

gesangskabine.gif

My first question:
The author says he used 2cm particle board with "Rockwoll Planarock for acoustic insulation." on the outside. I can't source Rockwool Planarock here in Australia, so I've decided to use 25mm MDF, with Bradford SoundScreen Batts, and then covering it with 10mm Soundchek Acoustic Plasterboard
Perhaps putting them together as Dan Merrill did with his sound absorbers https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?s=&threadid=42708