Is it True that Acoustic Foam is useless?

:) :thumbs up:

Nothing wrong with doing proper things to get your studio "perfect"...but man, I do feel that people get too worked up over it.
I mean, get some basic trapping, tweak a few things, and then....learn how to work in your space.

That's how I feel about it, too, but I just want to get rid of the flutter echo b/c it sounds really bad. I don't want to go down a rabbit hole tho.
What's the best way to figure out what the problem frequencies are? Like just put a mic and look at a spectrum graph while playing? I had to EQ out like 1k-2k range b/c the flutter was developing an actual pitch in there, so is that the problem range, and if so, would foam fix that? I read something online about placing foam where a mirror hits the first reflection but wasn't really sure. I'm not a pro studio and never will be so like i just need to tame this flutter and then i'd be content.

If you have bare, sheetrock walls/ceiling...try some basic acoustic ceiling tile. You know, the shit that you see in drop ceilings.
You don't want it on the walls, since it will crumble, damage easily...but for the ceiling, you can attach it with some adhesive caulk, then trim it out. You don't need a lot of caulk, just like around the edges and a couple of stripes down the middle.
Then you hold the tiles in place for a bit...I used mic stands, with a small piece of wood.
It will stick right away, but could sag in the first 30 minutes or so until it sets if you use the 2' x 4' ones, but then after awhile it holds fine. If you use the 2' x 2' squares, they will probably stick easy with the caulk....get the better silicone adhesive caulk.

Just in some spots on the ceiling...not the whole thing.