Treating my home studi (1st time)

Ninjaza

Hey guys. I'm honored to be a part of this awesome forum. Been following it for a while and now finally made the time to register! So thanks.

Im all self taught in production, music and mastering. I don't know much at all about acoustics. I would like to get some help from people who know their stuff on where to place panels/traps and which exactly I will need in order to treat my room for mastering and production. This is a very basic diagram (made on paint) of my room. studioplan1.png

And photos:
20150303_114512.jpg20150303_114539.jpg20150303_114558.jpg20150303_114549.jpgstudio panorama.jpg

For sure you will want to start with some bass traps - in every corner they will fit, and on 'back' wall. Your points of first reflection seem to be where the piano is on one side and the door on the other, and everything in your set up is very assymetric (not good for good stereo balancing). you'll want a ceiling cloud trap, too.
Guessing those monitors have rear-firing bass ports? In that case, bass traps on the walls/corners behind them is needed, too.

For sure you will want to start with some bass traps - in every corner they will fit, and on 'back' wall. Your points of first reflection seem to be where the piano is on one side and the door on the other, and everything in your set up is very assymetric (not good for good stereo balancing). you'll want a ceiling cloud trap, too.
Guessing those monitors have rear-firing bass ports? In that case, bass traps on the walls/corners behind them is needed, too.

Thanks for your response. With Bass Traps, where exactly in terms of height and quantity will they be needed?

Are home made bass traps terrible?

Would the Piano need to be moved or could I install the panel above or behind it? And can I install the opposing panel on the glass door?