Studio above basement

davecg321

I have moved my studio from my basement into my living room as the basement is damp and not very inspiring!

The living room is directly above the basement. The flooring is cheap wood effect stuff and is supported by wooden beams and I imagine a layer of 2inch mdf or something similar.

Will this cause any unwanted artifact when recording? I.e sub bass build up etc

I'm not experienced enough to know what to listen out for but still want to get the best sound possible. I've still got some foam panels stuck to the basement ceiling, so I may as well leave em there.

-dave

Yeah, leave the foam in the basement. They probably didn't do anything for your sound down there, and will do little (if anything) in your living room.
Are you tracking drums or bass guitar? It's unlikely miking a bass amp or kick is going to be an issue with your upstairs set up.

I'd be more concerned with the new room than the basement. Is it treated properly and does it respond well to sound? I wouldn't worry about sub sonic freqs or anything. You should be using high pass filters to cut that stuff out anyway.

Cheap wood effect floor? Laminate flooring?

Either way, area/throw rugs. Also, use your corners wisely.

So you're putting the TV and couch downstairs?:D

Actually if you put a layer or 2 of Insulation under the floor on the ceiling of the basement you could have a really good massive bass trap, thoughts?

Alan.

Actually if you put a layer or 2 of Insulation under the floor on the ceiling of the basement you could have a really good massive bass trap, thoughts?

Alan.
Nice one Al! The floor is going to be pretty transparent at LF anyway unless you "mass" it up. You could use a dodge I read about some months ago. Throw in some unopened bags of glass fibre or rockwool. They will act as bass absorbers. They will not be affected by the damp and if circumstances change can simply be taken out and used for another purpose or sold.

Dave.