Soundproofing Pipes

Kasey

I record in an unfinished room in my basement, and i love it for the most part, it doesnt sound that bad (since its all unfinished i dont usually have issues with flat parallel walls and such), it has an atmosphere that i like, and its a pretty good size. The only problem is that there's water pipes on the ceiling, which isnt finished either (obviously). Whenever water runs anywhere in the house, there is an awful hiss from these pipes (not only can i not record, i have to leave the room, its that annoying). I've looked at wrapping it in soundproofing material, but that looked really expensive (i'm a high school student... money is little) but i saw some stuff on soundproofing paint... would this work? Are there other options that I dont know about?

Kasey said:
I record in an unfinished room in my basement, and i love it for the most part, it doesnt sound that bad (since its all unfinished i dont usually have issues with flat parallel walls and such), it has an atmosphere that i like, and its a pretty good size. The only problem is that there's water pipes on the ceiling, which isnt finished either (obviously). Whenever water runs anywhere in the house, there is an awful hiss from these pipes (not only can i not record, i have to leave the room, its that annoying). I've looked at wrapping it in soundproofing material, but that looked really expensive (i'm a high school student... money is little) but i saw some stuff on soundproofing paint... would this work? Are there other options that I dont know about?

Kasey,

Please - show me where to look at this soundproofing paint - this I have to see.

Nope - sorry - you have to insulate the pipes - not only that - but even insulation may not help you depending on the actual frequency of the "hiss" you refer to. It's possible some of that sound gets into the surrounding structure and then getting rid of it is even harder.