Small Room Acoustics

Okay, personal example. I need to set up on the short wall, so one short wall is two 54"x36" windows with corners. the other short wall is two doors IN the corners (no bass trapping allowed.) Should I face the windows, or face the doors? It sounds like facing the windows will eliminate the window reflection problem, but facing the doors will allow bass trapping behind...maybe I'm not getting this exactly.
I'm working with a Primacoustic London 8 set and ceiling cloud and have made the ultimate mistake of wasting $150 on some used gray Auralex foam bass traps. 7'6"H x 9'11 1/2" W x 12' 8 1/2" D. What should I buy for decent bass traps? A link would be great :D

Last edited:
Well, scrap all that. If I go to SPI in Greensboro, what should I buy? I am complete newb noob n00b when it comes to acoustic treatment. How much do I need first, then we'll talk about placement. I can still return the Priamacoustic stuff if it's a waste of time/money. Have to keep the Auralex as it was used from GC. But JHB mentioned above that it could be useful placing it over good tile, so maybe all is not lost there either.

I've got a similar set up as yours, but only one corner-door, so I chose to set up on that wall, with the windows behind me. Note that you still probably have upper corners (wall-wall-ceiling) above the doors that can be trapped.

I made some some small 'chunks' from the 2" thick Roxul, 3"x24", total of 6 of them stacked 3-2-1, wrapped them in leftover burlap, but it was too flimsy to hang up as is. Haven't got around to attaching to a couple of 6" wide 1/4" plywood pieces (V-shaped).

Sorry for the long absence here. I have been very busy. We are the designers for SAE school here in Jakarta and for the Digital Media Center at Foothill college in San Jose, CA.. not to mention the many studio builds all over, large and small. ;)

.... For the back wall, does that count as early reflections as well?