Setting up my band rehearsal room above a bar in an old building, need advice!

guitylerham

Hey everyone,

I have a big project I'm undertaking this year. I am a singer/songwriter/guitarist and I'm shaking up my whole life, moving out of a long term relationship and into a new home and life for the next few years. I stumbled across a bar here in Seattle located in an old building that used to be a small lumber mill, perhaps. Two stories. I asked the bartender about the space above and he said it was currently unused and in need of remodel. Fortunately, that's exactly what I do for a living and we have made a good deal for me to move in and remodel the upstairs. This upstairs space, in addition to a bedroom, kitchen, and bath, has two 16' x 13' rooms side by side at the front of the unit. My band will set up in one of them. I am trying to decided which room to set up in and how to go about minimizing the noise transfer down to the bar below during their business hours.

Here's the thing, imagine the length of the rectangular building divided in half and at the front there is a roughly 13'x16' room on either side: the ceiling height in the bar below one of these side-by-side 16' x 13' rooms is probably 14' or 15' tall. The other half of the bar's ceiling is only 8' or 9', located underneath my second 16' x 13' room. This is because there is a large 5'-6' drop ceiling above the bar and a crawl space where mechanical, ventilation, etc. are located. So one of my questions is whether I should put my band in the room over the crawl space or in the room with a thin floor over the taller ceiling in the bar below. Like so:

2dwgi13.jpg