Saber 24:16:16 // Moto 24iO interface. New Set up.

jasonwick

Hello I've been recording for several years and now at 40 I've just finished my own purpose built space :)
My goal was always to be able to track a whole band in one go, multiple mics, headphones mixes etc etc
So I finally got my Saber desk up and running, full systems check and re-cap, I love it!
It has 24 tracks with mics inputs, tape inputs, line inputs, inserts and direct outs. 16 busses with xlr outs and inserts. 6 aux sends and returns. Main LR Xlr outs, main monitor jack outs, alt monitor jack outs, cue and studio jack outs.

http://www.allen-heath.com/media/SABER-REVIEW-HOME-AND-STUDIO-RECORDING-MAY-1989.pdf

I have a Moto 24iO PCI interface into my computer and a few bits of hardware, nothing special.

After fiddling and trying different methods of wiring it all up to give me a working system I have come up with a workable compromise.

1. Mics etc are fed in to the desk channel inputs via a snake.
2. I patch my 24 tracks to the Moto via the 24 direct outs on the Saber where they are recorded.
3. I patch the 24 audio tracks back from the Moto into the Saber using Moto outs and the Saber line ins.
5. Hardware can be patched into Saber channels via the channel inserts.
5. Headphone mixes are made and sent via the aux sends

Good points are I can use my desk whilst tracking, eq, hardware, faders etc. Also I and performers can hear any VST effects on tracks coming back through inserts.

Downsides.
On listening back after tracking, the recorded audio is not affected by tweaks on the desk even though the tweaks can be heard through monitors because I am hearing the already recorded audio via the line ins.
So I could therefore simply then turn to the computer forgetting the desk to finish mixing In The Box?
Or I could re-route the audio via my DAW back onto spare channel line ins for re-mixing?