Recording booth? Treated room? What should I do?

Condawg

I'm a voice-over artist, but I'm not incredibly educated on audio itself. I don't know how to make things sound better, for the most part. I'm looking to step my game up, take my recordings to the next level, but I'm not sure what my next step should be.

I'm interested in getting a recording booth (looking at Whisper Room and a few others), but I'm worried it might be overkill. I just ordered this isolation shield yesterday, which should help a bit, but I want to do whatever I can to get the best out of my recordings.

Here's a sample recording with my current set-up. Not exactly sure what that low hiss is, I'm thinking it might be my computer, and hoping the iso shield should help with that. I also got a new XLR cable, in case that's the issue.

But yeah, just looking for advice on where to go next. Is a recording booth too much? Treating my room might be an issue, it's pretty large and had a lot of stuff for noise to bounce off of.

Also, since it probably matters, my mic is an Audio Technica AT2020 (XLR, not USB), and my mixer is an Alesis Multimix 8 USB. (This one.)

Any help appreciated. Just looking to get better sound. Thanks!

Can't listen right now, but 'hiss' is most likley your mic preamps with the gain up too loud. What dB level are you recording at? Many beginners try to record too loud, so shoot for -18 to -12. The Alesis is fine as a MIXER, what you want for recording is a dedicated audio interface - read the sticky about mixers in the newbies section of this forum.

Adding to Mike's comments. Check your gain, make sure your signal isn't too hot. You can make up the gain later, if you need to hear yourself better, turn up the headphones. If you have your gain knob above 75%, you are going to hear it and a lot of other stuff. For simple voice overs, you are probably pretty close to the mic, so you really shouldn't need that much gain.