Question about cable management...

pikingrin

what is this?
I've got a modest little DAW setup...
topside.JPG

Underneath, however, looks like a complete mess...
wire mess.JPG

As is stands right now, I have no issues getting clean signals from mics and out of monitors - even though almost each and every wire is entwined with power cords. Before I go through the trouble of cleaning this up, I'm curious whether or not looming power cords together will increase the chance of signal interference. As I'm typing this out it seems like a stupid question but I'm not an electrical engineer so go easy on me! :D

I'm thinking of either getting some cheap loom or just zip-tying the power cords together and tucking them up against one of the legs of the desk away from the majority of the mic cables, but some will inevitably be in contact with either a single cord or two or the entire bundle.

Any thoughts are appreciated!

Everything has to be built to the FCC Part 15 subpart J or something irrelevant like that. Basically, it can't cause interference and it has to be capable of rejecting interference. Power supplies and cabling are pretty good at doing that. Rejecting noise and shielding signals.

Power cables and signal cables aren't really a problem in close proximity if they are perpendicular or in a random rat's nest. It becomes an issue when they run together, parallel, for a substantial length and even then, it may not cause a problem. An example, when I ran FOH long ago, I used to tape an extension cord to the mic snake from the stage back to my desk. Never a problem. 50ft - 75 ft along 16 mic channels.

For my little studio, I use cable channels and wraps. I shove everything I can in them to keep the place clean.

hth,