"Pro Acoustic" foam tiles

mashers

Hi all

I'm an amateur singer/songwriter. I have no intention of producing anything professionally, and I can't afford to invest in professional equipment to kit out my home studio. Currently I've created an area for recording vocals by hanging a curtain floor to ceiling across a corner of my studio. The curtain is lined with foam wadding and does a nice job of absorbing sound and deadening the reverberation in the booth area. I would like to add acoustic treatment to the walls and ceiling of this area to prevent as much sound reflection as possible. As I said I cannot afford to invest in professional-level materials. I have found on Amazon the following foam tiles, and I'm wondering if they would do the job:

http://amzn.eu/cN098HC
http://amzn.eu/dqfTzEs

They have good reviews, but I would like to hear opinions from people who have used them in building a home studio setup. Also, should the tiles go all the way from floor to ceiling, or do they only need to be at the level of the microphone?

I have attached some photos of my studio to give an idea of the space and layout currently.

Thanks in advance!

Edit - no idea why the photos are upside down... they weren't that way before I uploaded them!

IMG_3761.JPG

IMG_3762.JPG

IMG_3763.JPG

The real problem with foam tiles is that they do not really minimize lower frequency reflections. The details on the one link had this:

Below is the Foams Random Incidence Sound Absorption (Typical Results) Frequency (hz) to Relative Absorption Coefficient

125Hz 0.07
250Hz 0.21
500Hz 0.42
1000Hz 0.64
2000Hz 0.80
4000Hz 0.93