Please help me tweak the acoustics for my small studio

Magus90

Hello,

I am new to the recording world and was hoping to get some room acoustics advice. I am a retro game collector and i am starting a small channel just for fun to pass some time and keep me busy. I bought some nice startup equipment but i know room acoustics is just as important if not more.

I am trying to figure out the best method for my 8 x 11 game room. It has lots of furniture, vinyl plank floors, and pictures on the walls, so not the most ideal. I will post pictures below so you can get an idea of the layout.

I am trying to decide what to put on the two paper thin doors that are directly behind my recording desk. Acoustic foam panels, or panels like these ATS panels on each door.
YsDQHxpl.jpg

But then i am not sure where to go from there if i need anything else, or if this would be enough. I am disabled and cannot sit, so that is why i have a standup desk and a mattress in there. But i think the mattress might actually help with the floors.

I also was wondering if i should just use an isolation foam shield like the SE in addition to putting some foam panels up, or just the isolation shield by itself since i am only doing spoken word?

Any help is greatly appreciated
E0DMSugl.jpg

JST1QShl.jpg

Last edited:
We don’t like foam much around here ;)

The first thing to do with the doors is to put weather-stripping around the edges and a sweep at the bottom. I’ve not gone any farther than that yet because I’m contemplating solid core doors.

We don’t like foam much around here ;)

The first thing to do with the doors is to put weather-stripping around the edges and a sweep at the bottom. I’ve not gone any farther than that yet because I’m contemplating solid core doors.