PC to PA over 60m run

abie145

I need to connect a USB/audio PC output to a PA system mic input over 60m away. The PA amp is an ITC Ti-240 with only 1/4 inputs.
How do I do this? I understand there are issues with 1/8-1/4 cables being unbalanced and interference.

I would assume you would want to adapt to a balanced signal somehow and run through a snake with balanced cables. 150' is typically no problem with balanced cables.

Just a quick search found THIS.

I have no 'real world' experience with such an issue so I am just guessing here.

If you are trying to send a USB signal that far, I think you are out of luck.

if you have a snake, you can use one of the XLR channels with a DI box on the end to convert, or use XLR transformers. on our concert rigs our snakes were 500 footers, we ran our signals from the board to the stage with no issues. :D

Hay guys, the PA does not have balanced inputs at all, so balancing it at the source won't help him.

You know what, I would try it with unbalanced cables and see if there is a problem first up, if there is you will have to convert to balanced then to un-balanced at each end. What I would do, get hold of a cheep mixer with balanced inputs like a little Behringer thing like this and plug the little mixer into one of the unbalanced line ins on the existing PA, then I would used the suggestions above to balance the signal at the computer end, or is the USB sound card already balanced?

Alan.

That's correct about the PA being unbalanced. I would just try but with this long piping in flexible hose over such a distance I am afraid I will only get one chance at running the cable so I want to get it right in the first place.
Thanks for all the suggestions.