New Studio Build

rickybobby

Hello,

I'm just starting out on my second studio build, the last one was about 7 years ago and I had a lot of good help from this forum and another (which shall remain nameless). I had to move from my last property where my studio was in the basement.

The new studio I'm building is part of the extension so should be a lot easier in terms of ventilation and damp issues!

At present the builds have built the shell of my office/studio. It has a concrete block and beam floor and the walls are concrete cavity with celotex in the cavity to meet building regs, this does not fill the whole of the cavity.

The room is 6000mm length x 3830mm wide x 2400mm high

I didn't have 100% control over the dimensions and I might be able to squeeze a little more on the height to try and swallow up some of the looses made by soundbloc layes and resilient bars (if I use them).

At this stage I'm thinking through the weak points. I have limited budget to spend past making this a normal room so my plans are do just do the best I can.

Because this room will also be my office and a spare room when needed it needs windows. One window as a means of egress is a need for building regulations anyway. I have order triple glazed windows but I'm expecting to secondary glaze the internal stud wall. I'll get to this later on in the post.

From experience a studwall with 2 layers of 15mm soundbloc and 50mm dense acoustic slab rockwool in the studwork is very effective, I will acoustic silicone all the joins and have it skimmed. Last time I used sway braces to hold the top of the studwork but I will be looking to see if there is a cheaper alternative, I'm open to suggestions?