NEED HELP Acoustic treatment for basement studio

Sal_A_Mander

I am in the beginning stages of building a medium sized recording studio in the unfinished basement of my house. Currently I have built a 6' by 12' control room and a 12' by 15' band/tracking room with an 8" wall between the two. The window between the rooms is going to be 4' by 4' 1/2 inch glass with a 6" gap. I am a newbie to acoustics and am going to have several questions throughout the duration of my build. My first question is about preventing sound reflections between the floor and ceiling (I learned in school there was a specific term for this, but cant remember for the life of me what it was). I was planning on adding a 1/4" shock absorbing subfloor from home depot below high traffic carpet, but have been told by an uncreditable source that I need to build a false floor. Is this true and if it is how should I go about building it so it is stable enough to place large amps on?

Thanks, Kevin

Is this studio just to record yourself and your friends? Or do you plan to record others for hire? If it's just for you, I'd have advised against building the wall. Both of those rooms are now too small for good sound unless you add a lot of bass traps and other treatment.

There's no acoustic benefit from floating the floor.

More advice here:

Acoustic Basics

--Ethan